Softball at the Legislature…Parts 1 & 2

From Kat:

Aloha Justice Advocates!

I hope this finds you well today, Dr. Martin Luther King Day in Hawai`I nei!

I finally finished transcribing the tape I made and notes I took at last Tuesday’s (1.12.16) budget hearing with the Department of Public Safety. 

1.14.16 SOFTBALL AT THE LEGISLATURE – Part 1 1.17.16 SOFTBALL AT THE LEGISLATURE – Part 2 – Q&A

1.17.16 SOFTBALL AT THE LEGISLATURE – Part 2 – Q&A

Any mistakes are mine, I transcribed what I heard on the tape and from the notes I took.

I’m sending this because we are all curious about where the department is going since everything seems to be undercover. This Q&A gives us a little insight. For any wonks like me, I’d be interested in your take on the hearing after you read Parts 1 (DPS Presentation) and 2. (Q&A by Legislators).

What this hearing did show is that we need to have a much larger presence at the legislature. Senators and Representatives respond when they hear from folks in their districts. Be a mover and shaker…ask 3 people to send in testimony (they can email me to get on the CAP list if they so choose) and have them ask 3 more people and so on. Your energy is what it takes to make a movement. Incarcerated people cannot testify, sometimes families are even afraid to testify so their loved ones are not retaliated against. Therefore, it is up to us –  those who care about justice and who understand that without justice, there can be no peace. Together we can make a difference. And we MUST!

 

The Means we use must be as pure as the Ends we seek.
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a Reply

